support the library
library foundation
friends of the library
volunteer @ the library
the library shop
Home | Support the Library: Library Foundation
The Ocean County Library Foundation

Mary O. Malagiere
Joseph A. Guzzardo
John K. Dougherty
Jonathan Z. Petro

Grants and Awards | Donations | Branch Expansion | 2015 Donation Form | Letter from the OCL Foundation

Officers were elected at the Annual Meeting of the Ocean County Library Foundation on Thursday, July 16, 2015, in the Franklin H. Berry Jr. Board Room of the Toms River Branch.

Officers re-elected to a one-year term are:

Mary O. Malagiere, Chairwoman
Joseph A. Guzzardo, Vice Chair
John K. Dougherty, Ed.D., Secretary
Jonathan Z. Petro, Esq., Treasurer

2015-16 marks the 15th year for the Foundation and plans are underway for a variety of partnerships and programs to celebrate both the Foundation and the Ocean County Library.

Your support enabled the Ocean County Library Foundation, a 501(c) 3 charitable organization, to donate $10,000.00 in support of special programming to honor Ocean County Library’s 90th Anniversary year which was marked with a Great Gatsby Gala on Saturday, September 26, 2015.  

The Ocean County Library Foundation was awarded a $25,000.00 multi-year grant for its ESL – English as a Second Language Project from the OceanFirst Foundation.  The Foundation will facilitate the grant which will provide educational support and will benefit non-native English speakers as well as new U.S. residents throughout the county.

The Ocean County Library Foundation was also awarded an OceanFirst Foundation 2015 arts and cultural grant of $3,000.00 to support the Celebrating Music, Dance and Soul series.

The Ocean County Library Foundation is a 501c3 tax exempt organization established in 2001, to enhance the services and opportunities offered to all Ocean County Library users.  We support and believe in the Ocean County Library’s Mission of “Connecting People, Building Community, and Transforming Lives”.  The Foundation undertakes a variety of fund-raising and grant – writing activities, using our skills at raising both private and public funds to provide support for non-traditional library programs and services not covered by tax dollars or budget.  The Library Foundation is committed toward the goal of enhancing all library services, programs, and facilities to foster an appreciation and awareness of the Ocean County Library in the community.

Thirteen members of the community serve on the Foundation Board.  Current board members are:

  • Mary O. Malagiere, Chairwoman
  • Joseph A. Guzzardo, Vice Chair
  • John K. Dougherty, Ed.D., Secretary
  • Jonathan Z. Petro, Esq., Treasurer
  • Michael R. Beck, Esq.
  • James F. Fosbre, Jr.
  • Douglas J. Hull, Esq.
  • Benjamin J. Keogh
  • Elaine H. McConnell
  • Kathryn Oles
  • Patricia Siciliano
  • Steven E. Yost, Esq.

Susan Quinn, Director of the Ocean County Library, serves on the Foundation as an ex officio member.  Ruthanne Scaturro, Ocean County Library Commission serves as Library Commission Liaison to the Foundation.  Franklin H. Berry, Jr. serves as the Foundation Counsel.

John K. DoughertyJohn K. Dougherty
James F. Fosbre, Jr.
Joseph A. Guzzardo
Michael R. Beck, Esq.
Benjamin J. KeoghBenjamin J. Keogh
Mary O. MalagiereMary O. Malagiere
Elaine McConnellElaine H. McConnell
Kathryn OlesKathryn Oles
Jonathan Z. Petro, Esq.Jonathan Z. Petro, Esq.
Patricia SicilianoPatricia Siciliano
Steven E. YostSteven E. Yost, Esq.
Douglas J. Hull, Esq.Douglas J. Hull, Esq.
Leslie TerjesenLeslie Terjesen

Copyright © 1996-2017 Disclaimer. All rights reserved.
Ocean County Library, 101 Washington Street, Toms River, NJ 08753 | Tel. 732-349-6200
Gala Donors Gala photos