We’re Open! Click here for branch updates, hours & COVID Precautions.

The Long Beach Island Branch will reopen with normal service hours and operations beginning Thursday, January 27 at 9:00 am.
June 25, 2021
TOMS RIVER – Become acquainted with your feathered friends, find out how they live and learn how to help them survive during “Bird Watching Essentials,” a series of one-hour virtual programs on six consecutive Wednesdays beginning July 7.  New Jersey Audubon Society member Susan Puder, founder of the Southern Ocean Birding Group at Tuckerton Seaport, will share her knowledge as a wildlife photographer and environmental activist. New... Read More
June 24, 2021
TOMS RIVER – Hear stirring songs and stories that symbolize more than a century of American heritage when the Libby Prison Minstrels perform an Ocean County Library virtual concert, 7 PM Tuesday, July 13.  The New Jersey group will don historically-accurate period garb and explore America’s 19th Century through the nation’s most treasured musical works of the era.  Richmond, Virginia’s Libby Prison held Union Army detainees in... Read More
June 22, 2021
TOMS RIVER – Award-winning historian and writer Erica Armstrong Dunbar will take viewers deep into the life of civil rights icon Harriet Tubman during her keynote discussion of the Ocean County Library’s “Tell Your Tale” virtual series, 2 PM Saturday, July 10. The Rutgers history professor authored the newly-published She Came to Slay: The Life and Times of Harriet Tubman. She won the 2018 Frederick Douglass Book Award for Never Caught: The... Read More
June 18, 2021
TOMS RIVER – All branches of the Ocean County Library will be closed Monday, July 5, for Independence Day, observed. We encourage our customers to use the Library’s online resources, databases, eBooks, eMagazines, video and audio streams and digital classes. They are available continuously at www.theoceancountylibrary.org.
June 18, 2021
TOMS RIVER – Ocean County native Megan McCafferty, creator of the best-selling “Jessica Darling” series, will take part in the Ocean County Library’s “Dive Into YA: It’s Not Just for Teens” virtual author chats, 6 PM Thursday, July 8. The discussion series aims to show how real issues, vivid writing, diverse characters and imaginative concepts propel Young Adult literature beyond traditional age categories. Ms. McCafferty published two... Read More
June 16, 2021
TOMS RIVER – Meet six local and national storytellers, and learn how to weave narratives of your own, in OCL’s “Tell Your Tale” virtual series.  The presentations supplement the Library’s “Tails & Tales” Summer Reading Program.  “Where Did Toms River Come From?” - 2:30 PM Thursday, June 24. Toms River Township Historian J. Mark Mutter describes how the remote village became a municipality, and why its creation is unique in... Read More
June 09, 2021
TOMS RIVER – Avid readers of all ages will find a season full of excitement and prizes in the Ocean County Library Summer Reading Challenge. Registration continues through September 9 for “Tails & Tales.”  Visit any branch or www.theoceancountylibrary.org to apply for a Library card and register for the challenge.  Entrants can list books and track progress online through Beanstack. Those who complete and log five books... Read More
June 04, 2021
TOMS RIVER – Fans of “House of Night” and “The Escaped” can meet the creators, P.C. & Kristin Cast, when they join the Ocean County Library’s “Dive into YA: It’s Not Just for Teens” virtual author dialog series, 6 PM Thursday, June 26. The program aims to show how real issues, imaginative concepts, diverse characters and vivid writing propel Young Adult literature beyond traditional age categories. Their new collaboration, Spells... Read More
May 25, 2021
TOMS RIVER – Welcome summer at the Jersey Shore with beloved entertainer Charlie Zahm, who will perform “Songs of the Sea” in an Ocean County Library virtual program, 7 PM Wednesday, June 9. In his rich, resonant baritone, Zahm will celebrate musical stories of seafaring and maritime life which have been sung by sailors for centuries. A perennial favorite at maritime festivals, Zahm credits his family roots in the Canadian maritime... Read More
May 19, 2021
TOMS RIVER – The Ocean County Library Commission announced on Tuesday, May 18 an expansion of the library system’s hours of operation effective Tuesday, June 1.   Toms River, Berkeley, Brick, Jackson, Lacey, Lakewood, Manchester Branches: Monday through Thursday 9am - 9pm Friday and Saturday 9am - 5pm; Barnegat, Little Egg Harbor, Point Pleasant Borough and Stafford Branches: Monday 9am - 5pm, Tuesday through Thursday 9 am -... Read More