For help and support with these databases, please visit our help page.

Streaming video on demand covering a wide-range of subjects. From arts & humanities to science, mathematics, and technology, documentaries from producers such as the History Channel , HBO, Nova and Ken Burns.  All videos come with public performance rights for classroom or other public use. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Social Studies | Health & Science | Elementary | High School | Intermediate | Language Arts
Articles, videos, primary sources, images, biographies and timelines on 500 years of African-American history from Facts on File.  This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Social Studies | High School | Intermediate
Find firsthand knowledge of American History with primary documents. Search and browse by topic and by era from pre-Colonial America to the present with articles, maps, graphs, videos, biographies, and timelines. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Social Studies | High School | Intermediate
Articles, primary sources, images, maps, timelines and biographies from pre-Colonial American Indian History to contemporary Native American activists. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Social Studies | High School | Intermediate
Save money on magazine subscriptions with online access to familiar news and entertainment magazines such as Newsweek, Money, Sports Illustrated, Parenting, Real Simple, Entertainment Weekly, Essence, Popular Science, and more. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Newspapers | High School | Intermediate
Back issues of hundreds of national and local newspapers including the Newark Star Ledger, the Record, the Daily News, the New York Post, the Philadelphia Inquirer, and the Press of Atlantic City.   Back issues of the Asbury Park Press are in a different database. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Newspapers | High School | Intermediate
The history of ancient and medieval Africa, Near East and Asia, Ancient Egypt, Greece and Rome, the Middle Ages in Europe, the Medieval Islamic world, and North and South America before Columbus. Subjects in the topic centers include art, cities, economics, geography, government, literature, religion, and science. Includes primary sources, maps, videos and timelines. This database is provided with funding from Ocean County Library.
Tags: Social Studies | High School | Intermediate
Search news coverage from both Monmouth and Ocean County, New Jersey. This database is a part of US Newsstream by Proquest offering hundreds of local and regional newspapers including the Ocean County Observer (Dec 17, 2002 - Jan 10, 2008). Note: Many obituaries published from 1999-2005 in the Asbury Park Press are missing from this database, please contact library staff for assistance. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Newspapers | High School | Intermediate
Find reliable information on over 500,000 famous people both past and present with video, audio, images, obituaries, and articles. Search by name, occupation, nationality, year of birth, and more. Continuously updated. This database is provided with funding from Ocean County Library.
Tags: High School | Intermediate | Language Arts
Learn about the Black American experience. Gale’s collection of reference books covers everything from the daily life of the slave, to literature to the pioneers who have broken the color barrier. It’s all here on your online library. This database is provided through funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Social Studies | High School | Intermediate
Read all about literary movements, authors and their characters in this well-respected literary database featuring the noted Harold Bloom. Just added: 100 full length performance videos of classic plays including Much Ado about Nothing, The Glass Menagerie, Antigone, and Cyrano de Bergerac. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: High School | Intermediate | Language Arts
Help Now! Free live one-on-one online tutoring from a Brainfuse tutor. Tutoring is available in math, science, writing and other subjects for elementary, middle school, high school and college students. All BrainFuse tutors have at least a four year degree and are background checked. Includes live online help for Spanish Language help from Spanish speaking tutors, a writing lab that gives feedback on written assignments within 24 hours and much more. Requires an Ocean County Library card barcode number. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Tutoring & Continuing Education | Elementary | High School | Intermediate
Free live resume experts, live interview coaches and job coaches to help you on your job search. Submit your resume for expert feedback, career assessment tools and job resources, skill building lessons, videos, practice tests, resume creation software, match your skills and interests to careers and more. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: High School | Job & Career
New Jersey's newest and most powerful all inclusive career tool. Resume building is just the beginning. Provided by the New Jersey State Library.
Tags: High School | Job & Career
Free resume builder, career interest assessment, job listings from multiple sources, and more. Great for career changers, first time job searchers and those looking for a new job in their field. Military veterans try their “Match Experience to New Careers” feature to translate your military experience to related civilian careers. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: High School | Intermediate | Job & Career
Information on modern writers needed? Start here with biographical information, lists of their works, and short summaries of their major writings. Novelists, non-fiction writers, poets, playwrights, journalists, and screenwriters are covered. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: High School | Intermediate | Language Arts
Countries, U.S. states, and Canadian provinces with statistics, customs, maps, recipes, holidays, daily life, geography, videos, famous people, and everything that is needed for most country and state reports. Recommended for elementary and middle school students. To access from home, enter OCL as both user id and password. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Social Studies | Elementary
Great resource for middle school, high school and junior college teachers. Contains printable handout material on various curriculum subject areas. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Educator Resources
EBSCOhost es una colección de bases de datos, la cual contiene una variedad amplia de artículos de revistas y diarios en información general, negocios, y asuntos de la salud. También tiene productos diseņado específicamente para los niņos y los adolescentes. Esta base de datos es proporcionada con financiación de la Biblioteca de Nueva Jersey.
Tags: En Español
Enciclopedia en Español.Gratis! De World Book Online Έsta base de datos le puede asistir en las tareas y reportes! Haga clic en el titulo para acceder datos en ciencias sociales, reportes biográficos y otros proyectos escolares. Ademas, contiene un diccionario. Para niños y jovenes de grados 4 – 12. Esta base de datos es proporcionada con financiación de la Biblioteca de Ocean County.
Tags: En Español
Great resource for teachers and those interested in education. The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) contains scholarly articles, citations and abstracts from thousands of journals related to this exciting field. Provided by the New Jersey State Library.
Tags: Educator Resources
Grades K-5 – Browse categories for popular subjects. Topic overview articles are a great starting point for homework. Lexile reading levels, audio options and more. Provided by the New Jersey State Library.
Tags: Social Studies | Mathematics | Health & Science | Elementary | Intermediate | Language Arts
Teachers – Lesson plans, subject area articles, education trends, professional development, curriculum standards, student tools and more. Provided by the New Jersey State Library.
Tags: Educator Resources
Grades 6-12 – Search and browse here for magazine, newspaper and encyclopedia articles, biographies, photographs, videos and more. Lexile Reading levels, audio options and more. Provided by the New Jersey State Library.
Tags: Social Studies | Mathematics | Health & Science | High School | Intermediate | Language Arts
All the Facts on File databases at once: American History, American Indian History,  Modern World History, Ancient and Medieval History, African-American History, Bloom’s Literature, Health Reference Center, Curriculum Resource Center, World Almanac, Science Online, Today’s Science and Access Video. These databases are provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Social Studies | Health & Science | High School | Intermediate
Not sure what to do with your life? You can now explore thousands of careers, browse scholarships, get advice about applying for jobs, learn how to write the perfect resume and get tips on how to ace an interview, all in one place! This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: High School | Job & Career
Gale Virtual Reference Library es una base de datos de enciclopedias, almanaques y recursos de referencia especiales para investigaciones multidisciplinarias. Instrucciones Especiales Para Obtener Materiales en Espaņol: Seleccioné "preferences" > seleccioné "Spanish" >haga clic en "apply preferences" > haga clic en "OK" > haga clic en "basic" para una busquea básica o "advanced search" para una busquea mas avanzada. Esta base de datos es proporcionada con financiación de la Biblioteca de Ocean County.
Tags: En Español
Climate change, pollution, sustainable agriculture and architecture (green housing), renewable energy, recycling, and all related environmental topics can be researched here in recent journals. Includes Catalyst,  Monthly Energy Review, and Solar Today. Provided by the New Jersey State Library.
Tags: Health & Science | High School
Job Hunting? Free, easy to use online resource accessing over five million current detailed job listings. Create professional resumes and cover letters for free. Master interviewing and networking techniques, and more! First-time users click on "Register." Returning users or Learning Express Library account holders, use your email and password to log in. Provided by the New Jersey State Library.
Tags: High School | Job & Career
FREE prep and practice tests for SAT, PSAT, GED, ASVAB, NCLEX-RN, PRAXIS, STATE POLICE and more. Includes tutorials and eBooks on job searching and workplace skills in reading, writing, math, and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, Elementary, Middle and High School skill building and testing, and more. Register for a free account and access anywhere. Provided through funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Tutoring & Continuing Education | High School | Intermediate
Base de datos Learning Express 3.0 en Español ofrece tutoriales en gramática inglesa, matemáticas basica e exámenes para practicár. Esta base de datos es proporcionada con financiación de la Biblioteca de Ocean County.
Tags: En Español
Lynda.com offers streaming video courses on over 3,600 topics taught by recognized industry experts. Learn business, software, technology and creative skills at your own pace and at your own level. Educators, small business owners, job seekers and anyone looking to learn new skills, this is for you! Access is free with your library card. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Tutoring & Continuing Education | High School | Intermediate
Online courses for English Speakers in 72 languages. Complete list available on Mango website. English as a second language courses in twenty different languages including Arabic, Mandarin, Russian, Spanish and more. Mobile App available in Apple App Store and Google Play. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: En Español | Elementary | High School | Intermediate | Language Learning
Attention middle and junior high school students. Need some help with that homework? Here’s a great place to find some answers. This database has magazine articles, biographies and primary source documents for all your assignments and reports. There’s also a collection of photos, maps and flags. Provided by the New Jersey State Library.
Tags: Tutoring & Continuing Education | High School | Intermediate
What to read next? Enter the title of a book you like. Click on the listing to see suggested read-a-likes!  Browse by your mood or by the kinds of books you like. Teens, Middle, and Elementary School recommendations. Also helps parents and teachers search by reading levels and curriculums. Provided by the New Jersey State Library with additional funding from Ocean County Library.
Tags: Elementary | Language Arts
Find a new favorite author or series with recommendations based on your preferences, using features such as Author Read-Alikes, Book Discussion Guides, Book Lists, Describe a Plot, Explore Fiction, and Find Similar Books. Includes nonfiction titles. Provided by the New Jersey State Library with additional funding from Ocean County Library.
Tags: High School | Intermediate | Language Arts | Educator Resources
Designed specifically for the professional educator, this database has over 500 full text education journals. Funding provided by Ocean County Library.
Tags: Educator Resources
¡Aprenda cualquiera de los 80 idiomas gratis! Pronunciator tiene una opción fácil para aprender conversaciones, frases y vocabulario y también ofrece la oportunidad para llegar más cerca hacia fluidez en el idioma con horas de instrucción, ejercicios interactivos, cuestionarios, el reconocimiento de voz para mejorar la pronunciación y lecciones y libros de frases de audio descargables. Con la capacidad de aprender 80 diferente idiomas en 50 diferente idiomas, por ejemplo usted puede aprender japonés con las instrucciones en español, igualmente usted puede aprender Inglés (ESL) con las instrucciones en español o en 50 diferente idiomas. Aplicaciones gratuitas disponibles para todos los dispositivos Android y Apple. Necesita la tarjeta de biblioteca para registrarse. Esta base de datos es proporcionada con financiación de la Biblioteca del Condado de Ocean.
Tags: En Español
Foreign language lessons for free with your library card! Learn phrases, vocabulary and grammar with interactive drills, quizzes, speech recognition for better pronunciation, downloadable audio lessons, phrase books and hours of instruction to bring you closer to fluency. Learn any of 80 languages, in virtually any other language. English (ESL) offered for speakers in 51 non-English languages including Spanish, Mandarin or Cantonese Chinese, Arabic,  Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Russian, and more. Mobile Apps available in Apple App Store and Google Play. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Elementary | High School | Intermediate | Language Learning
Un recurso exhaustivo en idioma español que ofrece 49.000 entradas de enciclopedia, 50.000 imágenes, 2.500 informes médicos, un diccionario español-inglés y el texto completo de más de 100 libros de referencia y docenas de revistas de interés general en una amplia variedad de temas. Su interfaz intuitiva, basada en temas y en idioma español está diseñada para que el contenido sea de acceso inmediato para los hispanohablantes que tienen una experiencia de investigación en línea limitada. Las actualizaciones diarias aseguran la disponibilidad de los artículos más actuales de una docena de periódicos importantes de 10 países de América Latina. Esta base de datos es proporcionada con financiación de la Biblioteca de Nueva Jersey.
Tags: En Español
Learn 30 languages with Rosetta Stone for free.  Sign up with your library barcode number and your email address as your Username. Choose a language to learn when you sign in. To change languages, exit the program then login again choosing the new language. To access Rosetta Stone on your mobile device, follow the instructions at Jerseyclicks.org.  Provided by the New Jersey State Library.
Tags: En Español | Elementary | High School | Intermediate | Language Learning
Salud en Español provee reportes completos basados en evidencias y fichas de datos relacionados a todos los aspectos de la salud y el bienestar. Reportes específicos por tema que cubren todos los aspectos de la salud, dan información general importante en relación a enfermedades, afecciones y procedimientos de diversos tratamientos. Esta base de datos es proporcionada con financiación de la Biblioteca del Condado de Ocean.
Tags: En Español
TumbleBookLibrary is a collection of TumbleBooks (animated, talking picture books). There are also puzzles and games, children's classics in read-along format, and some titles in Spanish and French. The picture books are perfect for preschoolers and their parents but some materials are for ages up to 12. E-books for e-kids! This database is provided through funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: En Español | Elementary | Intermediate | Language Arts
Continuing education courses free with an Ocean County Library card. Computer skills, office software including Windows 10, Microsoft Word 2016  and Excel 2016, math, accounting, self-help, GED test prep, psychology, parenting, digital photography, drawing, small business, basic finance, writing, cooking, performing arts, alternative medicine, career training and more. Online instruction on your own schedule, real instructors to contact with questions, and continuing education units on selected courses. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Tutoring & Continuing Education | High School | Intermediate | Job & Career
Find Taylor Swift’s birthday, or the nickname of South Dakota, or watch a video of the top ten cleverest animals (including the skateboarding bulldog) here. Also find information from from history to science, reading, and famous people. Easy to use and filled with fun facts. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Social Studies | Elementary | Language Arts
Encyclopedia for reluctant readers, visual learners, English Language learners, and adult literacy students. Articles are available in audio format, Spanish, and many other languages. Lexile measures and other tools for teachers are included. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Social Studies | Mathematics | Health & Science | Elementary | High School | Intermediate | Language Arts
Online encyclopedia especially for kids. Easy to use with articles, games, videos, science projects, and more. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Social Studies | Health & Science | Elementary | Intermediate | Language Arts
Full encyclopedia with advanced search tools, citation tools, resource guides. If you miss the World Book in paper, everything in it is here and free with your library card. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Social Studies | Mathematics | Health & Science | High School | Language Arts
Encyclopedia for middle and intermediate school students. Homework research, science projects, articles, biographies, maps, and more. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Social Studies | Mathematics | Health & Science | Elementary | High School | Intermediate | Language Arts
See the earth differently through World Geography & Culture Online. It combines detailed, printable, full-color maps of countries, provinces, and states with up-to-date statistical and local information, which allows you to rank and compare states and countries in a variety of categories including population and income. This database is provided through funding from the Ocean County Library.
Tags: Social Studies | High School | Intermediate