June 09, 2021
TOMS RIVER – Avid readers of all ages will find a season full of excitement and prizes in the Ocean County Library Summer Reading Challenge. Registration continues through September 9 for “Tails & Tales.”  Visit any branch or www.theoceancountylibrary.org to apply for a Library card and register for the challenge.  Entrants can list books and track progress online through Beanstack. Those who complete and log five books... Read More
June 04, 2021
TOMS RIVER – Fans of “House of Night” and “The Escaped” can meet the creators, P.C. & Kristin Cast, when they join the Ocean County Library’s “Dive into YA: It’s Not Just for Teens” virtual author dialog series, 6 PM Thursday, June 26. The program aims to show how real issues, imaginative concepts, diverse characters and vivid writing propel Young Adult literature beyond traditional age categories. Their new collaboration, Spells... Read More
May 25, 2021
TOMS RIVER – Welcome summer at the Jersey Shore with beloved entertainer Charlie Zahm, who will perform “Songs of the Sea” in an Ocean County Library virtual program, 7 PM Wednesday, June 9. In his rich, resonant baritone, Zahm will celebrate musical stories of seafaring and maritime life which have been sung by sailors for centuries. A perennial favorite at maritime festivals, Zahm credits his family roots in the Canadian maritime... Read More
May 19, 2021
TOMS RIVER – The Ocean County Library Commission announced on Tuesday, May 18 an expansion of the library system’s hours of operation effective Tuesday, June 1.   Toms River, Berkeley, Brick, Jackson, Lacey, Lakewood, Manchester Branches: Monday through Thursday 9am - 9pm Friday and Saturday 9am - 5pm; Barnegat, Little Egg Harbor, Point Pleasant Borough and Stafford Branches: Monday 9am - 5pm, Tuesday through Thursday 9 am -... Read More
May 18, 2021
TOMS RIVER – Ocean County Meals on Wheels subscribers who are unable to visit their nearest Ocean County Library branches are now eligible to receive “Books by Mail.”  The Ocean County Office of Senior Services, Meals on Wheels and the Library are community partners in the free program, which will be conducted through the U.S. Postal Service.  “We’re proud to enhance the vital service that Meals on Wheels provides,” said Ocean... Read More
May 13, 2021
TOMS RIVER – All branches of the Ocean County Library will be closed Monday, May 31st in observance of Memorial Day. We encourage our customers to use the Library’s online resources, databases, eBooks, eMagazines, video and audio streams and digital classes. They are available continuously at www.theoceancountylibrary.org.
May 13, 2021
TOMS RIVER – Award-winning graphic novelist and animation screenwriter Molly Ostertag will appear in the Ocean County Library’s “Dive into YA: It’s Not Just for Teens” virtual dialog series, 6 PM Thursday, June 10. The program aims to show how real issues, vivid writing, diverse characters and imaginative concepts propel Young Adult literature beyond traditional age categories. Her appearance coincides with the publication of her newest... Read More
May 12, 2021
TOMS RIVER – The Ocean County Library, in partnership with the Greater New Jersey Alzheimer’s Association, will present virtual programs every week in June to foster understanding of Alzheimer’s disease and dementia and strategies for coping and communicating.  Nicolette Vasco, Program Coordinator of the Greater New Jersey Alzheimer’s Association, will present each program and engage attendees in post-discussion questions and answers.... Read More
May 10, 2021
Long Beach Island – The Ocean County Library’s Long Beach Island Branch will be offering temporary door-side services only on Tuesday, May 11 through Thursday, May 13. The branch is scheduled to reopen to the public beginning Saturday, May 15.  Hours of door-side services is: 10am – 5pm  All branches of the Ocean County Library will be closed Friday, May 14 for its annual Staff Development Day.  Patrons who would... Read More
May 08, 2021
Long Beach Island – The Ocean County Library’s Long Beach Island Branch is scheduled to reopen Tuesday, May 11 for cleaning after an employee tested positive for Covid-19.  All necessary steps have been taken to ensure the safety of our staff and the public.  Items currently on hold at the Long Beach Island Branch will be extended for their patrons’ convenience.  Please contact any Branch of the Ocean County Library for... Read More